Do’s and Don’ts on a dating site

Hi there all 🙂

Well as you guys know not too long ago i made a blog about ” past vs present : dating”  now although i gave my personal choice about me still being old fashion and giving  pros and cons on both old fashion and online dating, I am still open minded about it and i think each works best for each individual.  As i explained in the earlier post i know it can be difficult to meet people whether its because of work time or being there at the right place at the right time to meet someone as well as other things, so i can understand why online dating would be more easier for some. So i’m just going to give a few do’s and don’ts if you or when you join a site.dos-and-donts

DO’S 

 

Researching is very VERY important. Now depending on what you are looking for its always best to research the site and look for reviews and feed back on any particular site you are looking for, especially if your looking for something serious you don’t want to waste time on a site that doesn’t focus on it.

 
Read the terms and conditions. When i say this i mean paying sites. Again make sure you read and research on the site to make sure its worth it for you and make sure that at any point if you wish to stop payment there won’t be any hassles. I read that some people had problems stopping payment to a site they wish to discontinue. So please take time and research these things if you decide to pay for the site.

 
Keep it simple. When writing about yourself write things that highlights you the best. Pick at least 5 things you think will make you stand out from the rest and bare in mind you don’t have to write a lot about yourself, keep it mysterious a little it would give the other person more reason to what to get to know you.

Using the sites tools. On every site they will will give you options to state what you are looking for. So make sure you are clear that you are looking for casual or long term etc.

Reading others profile. Make sure that whoever  you are checking out matches the same criteria as yourself. No point messaging someone who is looking for long term if you want casual. It would be a waste of time unless you believe you can convince them otherwise then go for it lol.

Recent pics. Make sure your picture is no older then 1 or 2 years old. The more recent the better.

Be nice. There are some sites which is similar to facebook as in commenting on pics or your profile. So whoever you talk to make sure you keep calm and be nice, otherwise they might comment something nasty about you preventing others to want to talk to you giving you a bad name. Although you can eventually delete the comments and block the person, still better to have a clear name.

Using the advance search. You can always use this option to find someone  point by point on what you are looking for. This is also known as a filter.

Be creative. When you message someone for the first time rather then be boring and say ” hi, hru??” try and be more creative with your message. Try maybe asking a random  question that would make them laugh or asking a question regarding to their profile that will show you actually read about them and not just looked at the pics.

Have fun. Yes have fun with the site, keep it all conversations causal and flowing don’t take it too serious to the point where your stressing over it.

Be realistic. Yes bare in mind that Brad Pitt or Hally Berry won’t be joining a site anytime soon lol. So be open minded about your potentials.

 

DON’TS

 

Photoshop. If you want to give the pictures a bit of a glow or you want to edit a spot which you don’t have anymore then fine. But don’t go over board by giving yourself a nose job, boob job, face lift, more slimmer, more curvy or anything that changes you completely. It will look unreal and if you do decide to meet the person they for one won’t recognize you and sorry to say but they might be disappointed because you gave them a image that doesn’t exists.

Old pictures. Don’t use pictures that are over 2 years old unless your 100% certain you haven’t changed much since then. Again its at your own risk and choice.

Harassment. Don’t harass or pressure the person into giving their number or meeting up ASAP. Some people i guess wound’t mind but please allow some space and time before asking if they want to meet you or not or give their number. Bare in mind we can’t always be on the site 24/7 so don’t take it personal if they person takes 2 or even more days to reply.

Life story. As i said before keep the ” about me” part short and sweet. If you write your whole autobiography then it doesn’t leave any suspense about yourself and people would less likely to read off of it because its too long.

Scammers. If someone says they need money to pay to come and see you or they have a sick parent. THIS IS A SCAM. Don’t fall for this please. Don’t ever give money to someone you don’t know. These people will tell you a sob story, make you feel sorry for them,  make you believe that they are the one for you by basically agreeing with what you say to gain your trust, then once you deiced to pay them you will never hear from them again and all of them are fake profiles.

Jokes. Now i like jokes but some jokes are better heard face to face then writing. So please keep you jokes as simple as you can. Remember some jokes might sound funny to you but it might offend others. Unless you know the person or you know the person shares the same point as you fine. But really best to keep it as light as possible.

Lies. Yeah even though 30%  lie on their profile. Try not to. Or at least make believable hahaha. I mean like i said if its just causal then i suppose it doesn’t make much of a difference since their only looking for one thing, but if its serious or even short term to get to know the person then its best to keep honest about yourself.

Personal info. Don’t give you personal info to someone you don’t know i.e address, bank details, where you work address. Basically anything that can be hacked in or you getting stalked.

So yeah these are just my thoughts and advice about it. I hope it helps and if you are deciding to go for it then i wish you guys all the luck 🙂

 

 

39 thoughts on “Do’s and Don’ts on a dating site

  1. Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  2. Hi, I do think this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon
    it 😉 I may revisit once again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  3. I drop a comment whenever I appreciate a post on a website
    or if I have something to valuable to contribute
    to the conversation. It’s triggered by the passion displayed in the post I read. And after this post Dos and Donts on a dating site | mimitaboo. I was actually moved enough to leave a comment 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it simply me or do a few of these responses look as if they are coming from brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional social sites,
    I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post.
    Would you make a list all of your social pages like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • Hi there

      thank you for liking my blogs and taking the time to read as well as comment on them 🙂 To answer your questions the i have a delicious, email to follow and a twitter page ( all these links can be found on my blog page on the right hand side) . I’m still fairly new to blogging so hopefully i shall expand myself more soon 🙂

  4. What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I
    have discovered It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.

    I am hoping to give a contribution & help other users like its helped me.
    Great job.

  5. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it is really informative. I am going to
    watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in
    future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    • Hi there, the only thing i have right now is twitter which the link is on the side of my blogs. Other then that rss or the follow button are also good 🙂

  6. I hardly comment, however i did a few searching and wound up here Dos and Donts on
    a dating site | mimitaboo. And I actually do have a few questions for
    you if you don’t mind. Is it only me or does it appear like some of these remarks appear like they are left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional places, I’d like to keep up with everything
    new you have to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls
    of your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or
    linkedin profile?

    • hi there, i have a twitter which is on the side of the blog link or check for twitter@mimitaboo92. i am still in the process of making new ways to be contacted and have more links so keep an eye out for it 🙂

  7. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to convey that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most definitely will make certain to do not fail to remember this web site and give it a look regularly.

  8. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

    • hi there, i use a site called ifttt.com it basically send triggers when you post a blogs to multiple sites. i suggest you sign up to it and add ur blog and then add triggers to it 🙂 hope this helps

  9. I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering issues with your website. It appears as if some of the text within your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve
    had this happen previously. Many thanks

  10. This design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a
    reader amused. Between your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  11. I do not even understand how I finished up right here, but I assumed this submit used to be good.
    I do not realize who you’re however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you aren’t already.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

